Whirlwind!


The past 3 days have been a whirlwind! I have so much to get caught up on….let alone blogging! So, until tonight or tomorrow (morning), I leave you with this. This is a note Micah wrote on Facebook – and I think it’s worth posting on here! He’s the best!

“So, it’s summer time and you wonder what else you can eat besides greasy burger, correct? Well, Amanda made some awesome chickpea patties for me last week, and I’m not a vegetarian or anything, but I do like snack food, and that’s what it is, snack food. Today she left for Burlington/Ft. Madison, and I was alone with the kitchen to myself… now, anybody that knows me knows that I am not a cook by any means, not even close. I was looking for something to eat and in the pantry sat two lonely cans of chickpeas calling out my name. Couldn’t be hard, right? I was wrong. I drained and boiled the chickpeas and then drained a few more times with cold water to get as many skins off of the peas as I could (just a personal preference, not necessary though). Then I used the food processor to chop them up into fine pieces. Next, I mixed that (in a separate dish) with a blend of two (melted) heaping tbsp of healthy butter (total of 3 tbsp probably), 1/4 tsp of salt, 1 tsp of cumin, a ground clove of fresh garlic, and a few small handfuls of brown sugar to complement the salt. Then, I buttered and browned the insides of a plain hamburger bun. Next, (using the same pan) I coated the pan with olive oil and tried to shape my chickpea patties. The patties shaped, but while in the pan they broke apart really easily. I browned them to my desire, and then using the buns I prepared earlier, I added the chickpea “patties” to each section and basically molded the “patty” with my spatula until I had one “patty” on each half of hamburger bun. Then it was the moment of truth. And while I can’t say my chickpea patties were as good as Amanda’s, they were good in their own way. The flavors and the crisp outer patty and the crisp inner part of the bun were all perfect complements of eachother and tasted scrumptious. So, there you have it. If I can do it, so can you!”

Ok, all together now: Awwwwwwww! 🙂 See you later – with lots of updates!!!

Leave a Reply

