A very bad recipe


Good Afternoon! I had a late start to the morning. Confession: Ever since we moved, I have had a REALLY hard time getting to sleep at night. I don’t know what it is. Last night was the worst yet – I didn’t go to sleep until 12:30. I tossed and turned for what seemed like a few hours!!! How frustrating…

I set off on a ride later in the morning, but I didn’t do well. I had great intentions, but I think the lack of sleep played a big role in my ride that was MAJORLY cut short. I only got in 10 miles. Boo. Check out my riding gear!

I would say that was $25 very well spent – the shoes and jersey are in brand new condition! Happy Micah & Happy Amanda! 😀

Preride snack:

Postride snack:

Last night I started making a lemon tart with blackberries and blueberries. Very yummy, but not healthy AT ALL. I don’t know why, I just had an itch to bake – crazy, I know (I am totally not a baker, if you know me well). Plus, why would I bake something sweet when I don’t even really have a sweet tooth? No clue. But I’m going to give some to some neighbors we haven’t met yet….or something – because we aren’t keeping it. Here is my recipe. Now, I like to keep things pretty healthy around here. Here is your warning: THIS IS NOT HEALTHY!!!! But Micah and I shared a piece this morning, and it was very good. Also, I do not have a tart pan (like I said, not much of a baker), so I just used a 9” round pan, and it turned out fine.

Lemon Tart with Blackberries & Blueberries

Ingredients:

Lemon curd:
3 large eggs
3 large egg yolks
3/4 cup sugar (I cut this down – I couldn’t put that much sugar in, I just couldn’t do it!)
3/4 cup fresh lemon juice
6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) unsalted butter, cut into 6 pieces

Topping:
2 6-ounce containers fresh blackberries
1 6-ounce container fresh blueberries

Crust:
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1/4 cup sugar
1 large egg yolk
1 1/4 cups all purpose flour ( I used a combination of ww and ap flour)
1 large pinch of salt

For lemon curd:
Set fine metal strainer over medium bowl and set aside. Whisk eggs, egg yolks, and sugar in another medium metal bowl to blend. Whisk in lemon juice. Set bowl over large saucepan of gently simmering water (do not allow bottom of bowl to touch water). Whisk constantly until curd thickens and thermometer inserted into curd registers 178°F to 180°F (about 6 minutes). Immediately pour curd through prepared strainer set over bowl. Add butter to warm strained curd; let stand 1 minute, then whisk until blended and smooth. Press plastic wrap directly onto surface of curd, covering completely (this prevents a skin from forming on the top). Refrigerate until cold, about 4 hours. This can be made up to 2 days ahead. Keep chilled.

For crust:
Using electric mixer, beat butter and sugar in medium bowl until well blended, 1 to 2 minutes. Add egg yolk; beat to blend. Add flour and salt and mix on low speed until mixture resembles large peas. Using hands, knead in bowl just until dough comes together.
Transfer dough to 9” tart pan with removable bottom. Break dough into pieces, then press dough evenly up sides and onto bottom of pan. Cover and chill 1 hour. DO AHEAD: Can be made 1 day ahead. Keep chilled.
Preheat oven to 350°F. Uncover crust and bake until golden brown, about 35 minutes. Cool completely in pan on rack.

For topping:
Remove sides from tart pan and place crust on plate. Spread lemon curd evenly in baked crust. Arrange blackberries and blueberries on top.

Don’t worry, I’ll be back later with something MUCH healthier! And hopefully that tart will no longer be in my home (because I gave it away – NOT because I ate it). 😀

Do you have any suggestions for my sleeping problems? I need help!!!

3 responses to “A very bad recipe

  1. your lemon tart looks positively delicious!! Every now and then its ok to be a little bad….and your tart looks like an excellent reason!!

  2. Pingback: Enchiladas « Organic Eats

Leave a Reply

