Chickpea Patties + Tour


What a perfect day! We watched the Memorial Day service at Arlington National Cemetery on television this morning. I have many memories (being a trumpet player) playing at many different Memorial Day services growing up all the way through college. It is a very important day that I hope people don’t just think of it as ‘another holiday’ or ‘another day off work.’

I made an early dinner tonight. It was lovely. I made some super-easy chickpea patties, and served them with a lettuce salad with mushrooms, cucumber, and tomato (all local) drizzled with some olive oil and balsamic vinegar. All I have to say: YUM.

Here is the recipe for the chickpea patties.

Chickpea Patties

Ingredients:
1 can chickpeas, rinsed
1.5 T. parsley (use 1/2 cup fresh if available)
1 clove garlic, minced
1 T. cumin
Kosher salt and black pepper
2 tbsp. all-purpose flour
2 tbsp. olive oil

In a food processor, pulse the chickpeas, parsley, garlic, cumin, and 1/4 teaspoon each salt and pepper just until coarsely chopped and the mixture comes together when gently squeezed.



Form into eight 1/2-inch-thick patties and coat with the flour, tapping off excess. Heat the oil in a nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Cook the patties, turning carefully, until golden brown, 2 to 3 minutes per side.


We also had some Pinot Grigio from our wedding. I must say it was very good!

As promised (a while ago), here are some photos of our apartment. We moved into this 800 sq. ft, which was a drastic change from our house that was about 1800 sq. ft. Drastic change let me tell you! Luckily we have a large storage room in our basement and we were able to bring our washer and dryer. šŸ™‚

Kitchen:

The bad part:

We only have an apartment size stove. This is okay, and I’m dealing with it. This must be a cook’s worst nightmare! I was able to put several pans in storage, because they won’t fit. And, I’m learning to do without. Again I must think about those that don’t have what we have. We are so lucky to even have electricity and fresh drinking water. Did you know the average woman in this world walks an average of 7 miles a day to get water (and many times it is not good water).

Living Room (I took this picture when we first moved. It’s not as messy now!):

And I’m still trying to downsize our office (which once was an entire room) into 1 desk:

Hallway (bathroom on right, bedroom on left, spare room straight ahead):

Bathroom (with a pretty big closet on the right):

FYI: I have a load of laundry to do. šŸ™‚

On to the spare room (complete with music room + futon):

Unfortunately, my large bookshelf was damaged during moving, so I had to get creative. I have a LARGE amount of books (and I have 2 boxes in storage). So, here are just some of my piano and voice books – stored on top of the piano):

And more, stored on the floor – for now, until we get another bookshelf (and the box on the right is only 1 of my thesis boxes:

When we first moved, I found a filing cabinet at Salvation Army for $12!!!!! It now holds my LARGE library of choral music (over 1,200 scores):

There is also a large closet, which for now holds my school binders and books (of course they are organized):



And now, our bedroom:

FYI: The blanket on our bed currently is a quilt made by a very special person (an amish babysitter that my sisters and I had when we were little – I received this quilt from her for my high school graduation).

Closet (very full!):

FYI: I still iron most of our clothes.

One more – Guess who has an anniversary coming up? šŸ˜‰ We’ll be married 3 years pretty soon!

I think that’s enough for now. Hope you all have a wonderful evening!

Amanda

P.S. Do you have any memorial day traditions? Do tell!

3 responses to “Chickpea Patties + Tour

  1. I am jealous of all your room…

    • Amanda @ Organic Eats

      Oh Jane! Did you break ground yet? I may be in Burlington later this week, but I won’t know until later….And, I have an interview on Wednesday! šŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Spring (or summer?) Lettuce Wraps « Organic Eats

Leave a Reply

