A perfect combination


Words do not describe today. Awesomeness.

We got somewhat of a late start, but still managed to leave the house around 8:30am. The trip to Des Moines was shorter than I expected, and I do plan to take advantage of that! 🙂

The farmer’s market was packed!!!!

We’re talking packed as in it was hard to walk! And Micah isn’t a big fan of that – which is okay. After I scoped it out for a bit, I went in for the kill. I didn’t get pictures, but I got some great lettuce, spinach, asparagus, and tomatoes. I’m planning on using the asparagus for a pizza tomorrow, so stay tuned!

We originally wanted to get something to eat at the market, but with the hot sun, big crowds and long lines – we opted for something different. I picked up some roasted red pepper goat cheese. This was a.m.a.z.i.n.g. OMG!!!!! We also bought some pretzels for a little snack before lunch. This combination was perfect considering my infatuation with goat cheese AND roasted red peppers. Do I need help?



I got a very nice gift certificate to Olive Garden for graduation, so since we were in the area, we went there for lunch. I have to be honest. I’m not a big fan of chain restaurants, but who doesn’t love a free meal?!?! 🙂 I don’t have pictures here, but I had some portobello stuffed ravioli. Also, a lovely glass of wine. 🙂

Came home and crashed. We both took naps – much needed, and I gained some energy for a short ride. I did a 10-mile leisurely ride around town – perfect weather! Which leads me into my next topic…..

I was at the grocery store the other day deciding what product to buy for my work-outs to maintain hydration. When it gets to be summer and you have the hot temps, it’s hard for me to drink just water. Problem: Most of those sport drinks have HFCS in them. Which (if you know me), I refuse to buy. Then, I spotted this:

Verdict: Not bad! I liked the flavor, and it didn’t leave a bad aftertaste. The nice thing about it is that there are not many calories. I really LOVE to drink coconut water, but I have yet to find it around here….I’m sure I can find it somewhere, I’m probably just missing it. Hmmmm…..but this will definitely do until then….especially on those 20+ mile rides.

What do you use for hydration in your workouts? Any suggestions?

One response to “A perfect combination

  1. I have found those crystal light drinks and love them…Sounds like you are making tracks up there girl…have fun…love to Micah!

Leave a Reply

