Lobster


What you say? Lobster? Okay, I’m not talking about food here people! That’s just what my arms look like right now. Yes, the first sunburn of the year happened today. It’s ok though. It doesn’t feel bad, and it’s not as bad as other burns I’ve had. I’m white as a ghost and always have been. Even with proper coverage I still burn. Anyway…….onward.

This morning, I packed up my gear and headed out on a nice ride…or what I thought was going to be a nice ride.

Pre-ride fuel:

Verdict: I hope these are still on sale!!! 🙂

I used Map My Ride and found a ride (23.5 miles) that I thought would be doable for today with the amount of time I had. So I started out. And it felt great. Until about 10 minutes in. The hills – or mountains? – were intense for the first 15 miles!!! I did NOT think I was going to make it. Once I got back to the edge town, I thought I was lost. But I trusted my instincts and I was right on track. At mile 16 (after I was finally on flat land again) I started feeling pretty weak, so I had another bar (there are 2 small bars in a package, but I only had 1). I felt much better and had more energy to finish strong. Now that I know that route, I’ll definitely be riding it to train on hills. Okay, it wasn’t THAT bad – but in my defense I didn’t plan on lots of hills today.

When I got back I took a nice cold shower (Amanda Fact: She only takes cold showers in the summertime) and made a green monster. Okay, a purple monster – but it really looked brown. So good. In the mix:

3 Handfuls of Spinach
3/4 Cup Almond Breeze (this stuff is AMAZING – if you haven’t tried it yet, do it. Now)
1 T. Chia Seeds
1/2 C Frozen Cherries
1/2 C Greek Yogurt
1/2 Banana
1 T Protein Powder

Another Amanda Fact: Amanda eats 99% of smoothies with a spoon. I know they taste better that way!

I must say the cherries really made this GM a hit!

Micah wanted some study time out of the house, so it was the perfect time to introduce him to Stomping Grounds. Check out my last post about Stomping Grounds here. This time, I ordered the egg salad with local farm fresh eggs. Divine, I tell you! It was served open-faced, and the bread was awesome. It was some kind of multi-grain, and toasted. Micah wasn’t hungry, so he ordered a strawberry smoothie made with LOCAL strawberries. This was no doubt the BEST strawberry smoothie I have ever tasted outside of my home.

Currently we are enjoying Border’s. And I’m going to browse. It just might be a bad thing that there is a Border’s in this town…….;)

One more thing. I have added another page to the blog – Blogs I Read. If you have a blog and would like to be added to the list, let me know. I’ll gladly add your blog! Also, if you are reading this via email or GoogleReader, etc. hop on over to the blog. It looks a little different. I needed something more summer-like. 🙂

Have a great night!

One response to “Lobster

  1. would love to be added to your blogroll!

Leave a Reply

