The big food argument


This morning Micah started one of his two summer classes, so I had a few hours to myself. And I went grocery shopping. Here is what I picked up:

1 box Multigrain Cheerios (Micah’s cereal of choice)
1 bag blue corn tortilla chips (organic)
1 bag multigrain tortilla chips
1 box kashi pumpkin spice flax bars
1 bag spinach (organic)
1 bag romaine/spinach salad (organic)
1 package earthgrains thin buns
1 package pita bread
frozen cherries
frozen blackberries
Greek yogurt (organic)
feta cheese (organic)
Greek Feta dressing (organic)
Green olives
3 bananas (organic)
3 peppers (organic – red, yellow, green)
3 apples (organic)
2 tomatoes (organic & LOCAL)
2 cucumbers (organic)

Total cost: $44.29

And here is my argument: I could go on and on about organic vs. non-organic food. But, it’s not just about whether the food is organic, but also if it is sustainable too (i.e. buying “organic” strawberries from California when you live on the east coast, etc.). Sustainability goes hand in hand with buying local. Yes, organics can be more expensive, but this is what you are putting into YOUR body. People are okay with spending thousands of dollars on the clothes they wear, the cars they drive, but when it comes to a carton of eggs, spending a dollar or so more for fresher, free-range, better for your health eggs, just isn’t an option. I know there is only so much we can do, but even the small things add up. There is so much to learn about our current food industry. If you haven’t seen it already, I HIGHLY recommend watching Food, Inc. There are others like it, but that is the most recent and up do date (correct me if I’m wrong here!). I think it is a huge problem that in our country the healthier foods are more expensive. It’s no wonder we live in such an unhealthy country.

Remember this: Every time you go to the store, you are voting for what kind of food you want to have at your grocery store. Even just purchasing one organic product instead of conventional makes a difference in the lives of famers, animals, and our earth (this was information I got from reading an interview with Gary Hirshberg, the CEO of Stonyfield). It’s all about making a difference one purchase at a time.

Onto more FOOD!

I had a pretty heavy lunch in preparation for a loooooong ride today. I made a taco salad with some leftover rice and beans. It was very good and filling, and I ate about 3/4 of this.

For dessert, I had 1 serving of my new addiction. Seriously folks – this stuff is AMAZING. I can’t stop eating it.

It stayed very nice for most of the day, and right around 5:30pm the clouds rolled in. Boo. I hope tomorrow is nice – we are supposed to have some awesome weather this weekend!

I was in the mood for something light for dinner. So I made a great salad complete with tomatoes, cucumbers, green peppers, and feta cheese. I topped it with the greek feta dressing from today (which was fantastic!). I also had some cottage cheese and roasted red pepper hummus on the side with extra green peppers for dipping. I inhaled this, and also ate a bit of roasted asparagus (LOCAL!).


Take a look at this awesome asparagus!!!

What are your thoughts on buying organic and/or local? Do you think it’s worth the money? We can’t afford to buy EVERYTHING organic, but I do try to make wise decisions when it comes to what I put into my body – I can’t put a price on my health (in my opinion). Thoughts?

Have a great Wednesday!

P.S. 26.4 miles down baby!!!!!

4 responses to “The big food argument

  1. In the past two years I have changed the way I think about food and what I put into my body and even what I use as far as make-up and cleaning supplies. There are so many chemicals that are put into our bodies but there are small steps we can take to change that. I buy fresh and organic whenever possible and I feel better about what I eat. By putting cheaper, processed food into our bodies I think we pay the price in our health and medical bills. It is worth the extra price now to be healthier.

  2. I whole-heartedly agree with you Amanda…making wise choices regarding our food is MORE important, I think, than spending our money on clothes, cars, etc. Loved Food Inc., it definitely got me thinking…..and organic vs. non? You hit the nail on the head with sustainability….you can buy organic, but if it’s shipped from California or Florida…well, you may as well buy regular stuff. Go to your farmers markets locally and purchase fresh foods weekly, or better yet, wherever you are, plant a little raised bed garden, or something. Buy a topsy-turvey planter and have your own stash of tomatoes or whatever….anyone can do it. We are Christ’s workmanship……..taking care of our bodies glorifies our Creator.

  3. Amanda @ Organic Eats

    I agree with both of you! Very good thoughts. Anna, I think you bring up a good point that it’s more than just our food – make-up, cleaning supplies, etc. I’m also cautious about those as well. Mindy – I found out we can rent a garden plot here!!!!! I’m so excited!!!!!

  4. Heh, remarkably enough I just watched Food, Inc. last night! An eye opening movie that shed some light on things I wasn’t previously aware of – I’d already read the Omnivore’s Dilemna by Michael Pollan (great book, btw) so i was aware of the overwhelming presence of corn/soy in almost all foods, but the stuff relating to meat products simply made me more secure in my beliefs as a vegetarian.

    Great article – can’t wait until I myself am financially stable enough to buy exclusively local organic foodstuffs. Its all i can do to visit the local farmers market from time to time.

Leave a Reply

