Black Bean and Corn Salad


Is it a bad thing that until 6pm I didn’t step foot outside of our apartment? Talk about lazy!!! Geez….tomorrow calls for a looooong ride. I’m thinking at least 20 miles. We’ll see. This evening Micah and I went to check out the library on campus. It’s awesome. And I don’t say that about many libraries. The main library at WIU was pretty awesome. Anyway, I needed some scans done for some prospective jobs. We had a lovely walk around campus – the humidity wasn’t too bad. The Iowa State University campus is beautiful. And there is so much history!!! They have signs like this all over the campus. …sorry for the tilted picture…

ISU has an excellent engineering program. And to quote from their website:

“Our College of Engineering is leading land-grant institutions into the 21st century. Following its legacy as the first land-grant college tasked with developing the technologies that pushed back the 19th-century frontier, Iowa State is investigating the science and innovating the technologies that will improve our quality of life and push back new frontiers in the 21st century. Iowa State’s College of Engineering ranks second nationally in R&D100 research and development awards, fifth nationally in patents awarded, and twelfth nationally in start-up companies launched from its research.

Our college has established itself as the “go to” destination for students to begin their careers and pursue graduate study. We have one of the 10 largest undergraduate engineering programs in the nation. Our learning communities, ranked in the top five nationally, focus on preparing our students to become future leaders in business, industry, academics, and government. The problem-solving skills learned from an engineering education at Iowa State provide an excellent launching pad for careers not only in technology, but also medicine, law, business, and many other fields.”

After we got home, I made some veggie tacos, similar to these. Of course, Micah cooked meat for his. He’s been buying ground beef by the 1/2 lb. It’s cute. The packages are so small. And here is another recipe………

Black Bean and Corn Salad

This is very similar to the salsa I make. However, this takes much less time. Not as many tomatoes, and very easy to throw together. Many of the ingredients I keep on hand, so it makes sense.

Ingredients:
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
2 cups corn
1 tomato, chopped
1 jalapeno, seeded and minced
1/2 cup red onion, chopped
2 green onions, chopped
1 bell pepper, chopped
1/2 cup cilantro, minced
juice of 2 limes (I like mine pretty lime-y, so keep that in mind)
1/4 cup olive oil
salt and pepper to taste
I also like to add avocado, but I didn’t have any on hand – made guacamole the other day and used them all!

I am ALMOST ready to give you all a tour of our apartment – especially after today. I was able to get quite a bit of organizing done in our spare room (complete with futon, piano, and books). And, I’m STILL downsizing! This is a good thing, I’m sure of it. I have so many books (yes, I’m a book nerd – completely), but I just can’t downsize my book collection any more. I just wish I had more space. Also, I have so. much. choral music. I love it! Repertoire is definitely one of my interests, and it shows, considering I have over 1,200 titles in my library. I know. It’s insane. Of course they are all organized by composer/arranger. I also keep an electronic copy that provides me with information such as voicing, instruments, appropriate choirs, and other comments I feel are necessary in making repertoire decisions. Organizing my library like this was probably one of the best things I could have done. It makes it much easier to choose repertoire for choirs or to make suggestions to my colleagues. Yeah – I’m totally OCD, I know. 🙂 Here is just a taste of what the excel document looks like:


Are there any OCD people out there besides me??? Come out of your shell!!! I know you must be out there!!!

Leave a Reply

