Roasted Caprese Salad with Goat Cheese


How was your weekend? Things were pretty quiet around here. Micah starts his summer classes on Tuesday, so he spent most of the weekend studying. I did find 2 farmer’s markets, but I was unimpressed. 😦 Boo. Maybe I’m missing something? I WILL be attending the Des Moines market next Saturday. Micah and I have some big plans in Des Moines next weekend, and I CAN’T WAIT!!! I had a delightful dinner last night with a friend. Yay for my 1 friend in Ames!!! 🙂 Thanks, Ashlie!

We went to Stomping Grounds – a very cute cafe in Campustown. They had outside seating and apparently they also have live music every once in a while. Lucky for me, I had several options, and in fact had a hard time choosing what I was going to order! Must. go. back. soon. Here is just part of their menu:


Here’s what I ended up deciding on: The Caprese Panini. Not the healthiest option, but it was very good – ya know, sometimes a girl needs to indulge. 😉

I also ordered one of these. A Blue Note. It’s basically lemonade with blueberries (in the form of a frozen drink). Mmmmmmmmm…………….

Today has been pretty uneventful. I have to admit, I’m starting to miss some of my friends. It’s hard to be in a new place and not know anyone. Luckily, I have a great husband who I can talk to and pour out my heart. We had some pretty deep conversations this afternoon. 🙂

On to the recipe. This is a variation from a traditional caprese salad, but definitely one of my FAVORITE summer foods! This is one of those recipes that I don’t use a specific amount of each ingredient. It’s all by taste to me!

Ingredients:

tomatoes, seeds removed
olive oil
balsamic vinegar
garlic clove, minced
salt and freshly ground black pepper
goat cheese
basil leaves, julienned

Preheat the oven to 275°F. Place the tomatoes cut-side up on a sheet pan in a single layer and drizzle with olive oil and balsamic vinegar, then sprinkle with garlic, S & P. Roast in the oven for 2 hours and allow them to cool to room temperature. Cut the goat cheese into about 1/4-inch slices and arrange them alternately with the tomatoes on a platter. Sprinkle with the basil, a little more salt and pepper, and a touch more olive oil.

Read more about goat cheese and the health benefits here.

How was your weekend? Anything exciting?

Also, if anyone has any suggestions on decorating a small apartment, let me know! I need some help!!! I’m putting lots of decor in storage, because we just do not have room. Boo for no space – yay for saving money!!!

One response to “Roasted Caprese Salad with Goat Cheese

  1. Pingback: Lobster « Organic Eats

Leave a Reply

