Black Bean and Goat Cheese Quesadillas


Thanks for all of the wonderful comments on my last post. I’m so glad I’m not alone! This week is going to fly, and I’m not sure how I feel about that. Hmmmm….many emotions. In one week I will have my master’s degree. Can’t wait! I was officially done with my coursework yesterday. I can’t even explain in words how good this feels. U.n.r.e.a.l. Tomorrow, Micah is hosting a party with many of our friends to celebrate! Good times will be had by ALL! Pictures will be posted.

Here is a brand new recipe by yours truly. 😉 Black beans are my favorite bean. Ever. And goat cheese – well, you may know by now my love for goat cheese. If you don’t, then you probably don’t know me very well. HA!

Black Bean & Goat Cheese Quesadillas

Ingredients:
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained (1 1/2 cups)
3 ounces goat cheese, crumbled (1/2 cup)
1 medium tomato, seeded and coarsely chopped
3/4 cup corn kernels (from 2 ears of corn)
1/2 red onion, coarsely chopped
handful of fresh cilantro, chopped
Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
tortillas – your choice!

Directions:
1. Mash beans in a medium bowl until chunky. Add goat cheese, tomato, corn, red onion, and cilantro. Season with salt and pepper, and stir until well combined.

2. Heat a grill pan over medium heat. Spread 1/2 cup bean mixture evenly over 1 tortilla, and top with another tortilla. Repeat with remaining bean mixture and tortillas.

3. Raise heat to medium-high. Grill quesadillas, 1 or 2 at a time, until grill marks appear and filling is hot, about 2 minutes per side. Cut into wedges and serve warm.

I served these with some homemade salsa and guacamole! Mmmmm…….

As of Sunday, I’m packing up the rest of our dishes. I don’t remember the last time I used paper plates, but that’s what we’ll be using this week. Also, meals are going to be sketchy. Anyone want to have us over? Ha! 🙂

2 responses to “Black Bean and Goat Cheese Quesadillas

  1. Yes…Can you come for supper on Wednesday night?

    • Amanda @ Organic Eats

      I think that should work. I’ll talk to Micah and let you know for sure tomorrow. You are too sweet! 🙂

Leave a Reply

