When will we learn?


For the next two weeks, you will have to deal with the lack of recipes. It happened. Yesterday, I packed up close to my entire kitchen. I only have a few dishes, pans, and utensils for the next 2 weeks. Oh, and there’s this thing called school and graduating. 😉 Which, by the way – I defended my thesis on Friday!!! It went very well, and I was able to answer questions asked by my committee. The entire thesis process was the most rewarding part of my degree. I can’t wait to do it again (Ph.D. soon….hopefully)! HA!

For you vegetarians out there (and some of this definitely applies to non-vegs out there), I found this great video yesterday!

So, as I was doing some work tonight and watching the news, I came across a rather DISTURBING commercial. I’m going to TRY to be as nice as possible………. Have you heard of the KFC double down chicken sandwich? I heard about it last week, and I just saw the commercial. There is SO MUCH wrong with this country.

It is, if you really want to know, two slabs of fried chicken intersliced with two pieces of bacon, two slabs of cheese, and the Colonel’s “special sauce.” It comes in the form of a sandwich, with the fried chicken where the bread used to be. AND, to top it off, KFC is donating the unneeded sandwich buns to food banks across the country. That’s right folks, you can feel better about ingesting an entire day’s worth of animal-derived protein (the USDA’s DRI for men ages 19-70 is 56, for women it’s 46, the sandwich contains 53) in one sandwich because hungry folks around the country are getting an extra dose of refined flour. I don’t get it. Period. When are people ever going to learn?

I thank my Dad everyday that we NEVER ate fast food (or just unhealthy food in general) when we were growing up. “Junk food” in our house was…..well, maybe the pretzels in the cupboard? I’m serious. We didn’t consume soda, chips, or much processed food. My dad also had a HUGE garden. I can remember eating cherry tomatoes straight from the garden. And they were oh, so tasty! Hopefully someday, I can have those same experiences with our own children. Off to finish up some work and relax for the evening…. Have a great Monday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

