Keen-waaaaaaah!!!


Last night, I made a great recipe (which you’ll see in a minute) that included Quinoa(see title for pronunciation!).

A little information about quinoa:

*Quinoa contains more high quality protein than any other grain. The National Academy of Sciences calls it “one of the best sources of protein in the vegetable kingdom.”
*Quinoa stands alone as a complete protein grain. It provides all the essential amino acids in a balanced pattern, close to the ideal set by the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization.
*Quinoa contains no gluten. This makes it the perfect food for those who follow a wheat-free/gluten-free diet.
*Quinoa is light, tasty and easy to digest. It is much less filling than most other grains and pasta, and has a nutty flavor.
*Quinoa is easy to prepare and can be served as a side dish, in soups, in salads, as a pilaf, and even as a hot breakfast cereal.

Personally, I prefer to cook quinoa rather than rice. πŸ™‚ And now…onto some quinoa stuffed poblano peppers!

Ingredients:
2 Poblano Peppers
1 C. sliced mushrooms
1 C. corn
1/2 medium red onion
2 garlic cloves
Handful of fresh cilantro, chopped
Juice of 1 lime
2-3 tsp. chili powder
1/3 C. Cherry Tomatos cut in half
1/2 C. cheese for topping (you can use any variety, I used a pre-mixed mexican variety)
1 C. dry quinoa

Directions for quinoa:
Place 1 C. quinoa and 2 C. water in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce to simmer, cover and cook until water is absorbed (about 10-15 min.). When done, the grain appears soft and translucent, and the germ ring will be visible along the outside edge of the grain.

Directions for the peppers:
Cut the peppers in half and deseed. Roast the peppers in an oven with broiler on or stove top on all sides. In the mean time, saute the vegetables with some olive oil in a skillet on the stove. When vegetables are nice and brown (that’s the way I like them, anyway), add in the quinoa, cilantro, lime juice, and spices. Stuff the peppers, top with cheese and cook in 350 degree oven for about 5 minutes or until cheese is melted.

For Micah’s portion of this recipe, I added a bit of ground beef to the mixture. Funny note: I was at the store shopping for this recipe when Micah called. I didn’t tell him what I was cooking for dinner, and he requested stuffed peppers. HA! It was hilarious. πŸ™‚ He didn’t want to as me to make them, because he didn’t think I would have the time – especially since I’m finishing up my thesis. Too sweet. πŸ˜‰

3 responses to “Keen-waaaaaaah!!!

  1. Amanda, I saw your blog on facebook so I clicked on it…very impressive! Your food turns out great! I like this healthy approach that you’ve taken. I am starting a crop share in May, so hopefully I’ll be able to take on a lot of vegetarian recipes. I’ll let you know how it goes!

  2. Amanda @ Organic Eats

    Awesome, Jen! You can subscribe to the blog via email if you go to the main page. There’s a place to enter your email address if you are interested. I’m always trying to increase my readership. Anyway, keep me posted – crop shares are awesome! I found out I can rent a garden plot where we are going to be living at in Ames. I’m pretty stoked about that!

  3. Pingback: Quinoa Cakes!!! « Organic Eats

Leave a Reply

