Southwest Tilapia with Orzo


This recipe is a great one! I love fish, and so when the good stuff is on sale, I try to stock up. 🙂 This is something you can make in about 30 minutes – or less!

Southwest Tilapia with Orzo

Ingredients:
4 Tilapia Filets
1 t. garlic powder
1 t. chili powder
1 t. cayenne pepper (use a little less if you don’t like lots of spice)
1 t. salt
1 t. pepper

1 c. orzo (dry)
1/3 cup (or so) chopped cilantro
Juice of 1 lime

Directions:
Preheat oven to 450°F. In a small bowl, mix garlic powder, chili powder, salt, black pepper and cayenne. Sprinkle evenly over both sides of tilapia.

Coat a baking sheet with 1 tablespoon of the oil. Arrange tilapia in a single layer on the baking sheet. Drizzle tilapia with the remaining tablespoon of oil and bake until golden brown and flesh begins to flake, 7 to 9 minutes. Serve with lime wedges on the side.

I used some orzo that I picked up at our farmers market from Pappardelle’s. I used their supreme orzo. After cooking and draining the orzo (I used about 1 dup dried), add the cilantro and lime juice. This worked perfectly with the spice of the tilapia. Perfecto! I also roasted some eggplant and squash, and served a small salad.



This was the perfect dinner before going to hear the Jerry Tolson Quintet with my parents (Micah had to work – boo!). They are from the Louisville, KY area. Jerry Tolson is originally from Mt. Pleasant (he’s the pianist in the group). They came to play when I was in college. They can sure play some great jazz!!! I would have easily paid at least $20 to hear them play, and thanks to the Haselmayer Endowment for the Arts, I heard them for FREE! Here are some pictures for your own enjoyment.

Ready to take on the week? Not me – I’ve got the Sunday Night Blues…..

Leave a Reply

