My Tuesday Tradition


2 posts in 1 day!?!?! What?!?!? I just have a little extra time on my hands…well, maybe not, but I’m feeling productive in the “blog” area. 🙂

Tuesdays are long days in Macomb for me. I have office hours until 4pm and then I have a 2 hour break. So, I usually come to Cafe Aroma. Tonight I chose the Grilled Tuscan Chicken Wrap with Veggies. I requested her to use less chicken and to load it up with veggies. She did just that and it was excellent! They never fail me!

Also, I’ve been meaning to post my recipe for chickpeas & spinach. Here you have it!

2 pounds organic spinach – I always buy organic spinach no matter what!
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 medium red onion, finely chopped
3-4 cloves garlic, minced
1 can chickpeas, rinsed
1 1/2 teaspoons dried thyme
1 1/2 teaspoons dried oregano
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon hot paprika
1/2 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth, or vegetable broth
1 cup basmati rice
Lemon wedges (optional)
Lemon rind (optional)

1. Rinse spinach and let drain in a colander. With water still clinging to it, place half the spinach in a Dutch oven over medium heat. Cook, tossing with tongs and adding the remaining spinach by the handful until all is added and wilted, 6 to 8 minutes. Drain in the colander. Let cool slightly, then coarsely chop. Be sure to wipe out the pan!
2. Heat 2 tablespoons oil over medium heat. Add onion and garlic and cook, stirring, until the onion is tender and lightly browned, 8 to 10 minutes. Stir in chickpeas, thyme, oregano, cumin, salt and paprika and broth. Add the chopped spinach and stir gently to combine. Remove from the heat and let stand 10 minutes. Serve with rice (your preference – I usually use basmati rice).

One response to “My Tuesday Tradition

  1. It looks so pretty…and tastey. I will definitely have to try this one!

Leave a Reply

