Veggie Omelette


What a weekend! I got back from Chicago last night around 6pm. It was a great trip, but one that I wish would have lasted longer.

Saturday morning I was up at 6:15am for NO REASON!!! This was crazy considering I didn’t go to sleep until 12:30am. I think I have an inability to sleep in. Period. I can’t do it – ever. I’m always up most mornings by 6am thanks to my internal alarm clock. I spent a few hours editing my literature review for my thesis. It’s going well, but the editing process is in FULL swing! πŸ™‚

So, when Danielle got up I made us each a veggie omelette for breakfast. I already planned this the night before, so I had all of the ingredients. You can use whatever ingredients you like. Here’s how I made them:

3 eggs (per omelette) – I use these – unless I get them straight from the farm.
3 Tbsp. milk (or 1 Tbsp per egg)
Toppings (add as much as you like of each):
Green Peppers
Red Peppers
Red Onion
Mushrooms
Cheese – lots of different kinds work here

Other ingredients:
Fresh Basil (love this in the summer!)
Tomatoes
Spinach
Broccoli
Zucchini
Jalapenos – My favorite!!! πŸ™‚
Anything else you like

Saute the veggies in a bit of olive oil. Then, whisk the eggs and milk together. The milk makes the eggs fluffier (is that a word?). πŸ™‚ Put a little butter in your skillet, and when it starts to foam add the eggs. It works best if the eggs are at room temperature. Let them cook. Add toppings and cheese and voila – you have a veggie omelette.

Another note: When I make these at home, I often make an egg white omelette (better health choice). When I do that, I use 3 egg whites and 1 Tbsp. milk.

Unfortunately, I have no pictures. My camera died and I left my charger at home. Didn’t think I would actually need it for a short trip! 😦 Boo!!!!

Leave a Reply

