Mexi Maki!


What a week! This afternoon, after our final rehearsals for the spring choral concert, I headed up to visit my friend Danielle in Vernon Hills, IL. I’m picking up my mom at O’Hare tomorrow – so this was the PERFECT night to have a girls night! And a girls night we had!

First: SUSHI!!!

We went to Tsukasa of Tokyo Sushibar – and it was seriously some of the best sushi I have ever had. You see, Micah does not eat sushi, so it’s very rare when I get to have some.

First up: Seaweed Salad.

This seaweed salad was the perfect prelude to our dinner! Perfect in every way – definitely not overwhelming. The only thing is that I only ate about half, because I wasn’t incredibly starving. I had to make sure and save plenty of rrom for the sushi!

We ordered 3 rolls of sushi (pictured left to right, below).
1. Tarantula (Spicy Tuna, Avocado, Cucumber, Cream Cheese and Shrimp Tempura, topped
with Spicy Soft Shell Crab)
2. Spicy Tuna (Your traditional run-of-the-mill spicy tuna roll)
3. Mexi Maki (Octopus, Avocado, Cucumber, Shrimp Tempura – and some other ingredients I can’t remember exactly)

All three were amazing. I must say that my favorite is the Mexi Maki roll (pictured below).

The pieces were HUGE and this particular one – well, let’s just say I couldn’t exactly fit the whole thing in my already massively huge mouth! πŸ™‚

And pretty soon, our large plate of sushi dwindled down to one small piece – which we couldn’t eat. I was pleasantly filled. πŸ™‚

And off we went to Target, and picked up some wine. πŸ™‚ We are sitting here on the couch watching a movie and enjoying some nice wine – and of course, great girl talk!

See you later!

One response to “Mexi Maki!

  1. Looks like fun πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

