Bean Salad


Bean Salad

A lunch time favorite of mine that is so easy to throw together quickly! I can make a batch of it on Sunday night and have enough to last me for at least 3 days….unless you are the person that doesn’t do leftovers. I grew up eating leftovers, so I don’t mind at all! πŸ™‚

This is very easy to make, and unlike most “traditional” bean salads, this does not have the large sugar content! Here is the recipe:

Tangy Three Bean Salad
1/4 C. fresh lemon juice
1/3 C. olive oil
1-2 Tbs. sugar
1/2 C. cilantro leaves
salt and pepper to taste
1 can kidney beans rinsed and drained (15 oz.)
1 can chick peas rinsed and drained (15 oz.)
1 can black beans rinsed and drained (15 oz.)
1 small red onion

Place lemon juice, olive oil, sugar, and cilantro in a blender. Puree until smooth. Salt and pepper to taste, then toss with beans and chopped red onion. Cover and refrigerate for a few hours (or overnight). This always tastes best when the beans can soak in the flavors of the other ingredients – only serve immediately if you need to!

2 responses to “Bean Salad

  1. Looks delicious! You make me want to be more adventurous in my food choices πŸ™‚ – Any advice on how to choose tasty asparagaus? I heard once that the smaller the diameter, the more tender they will be, and since it looks like you eat it often, I thought you might have some suggestions! I know I like the taste, I’m just not sure how to buy it.

    • Yes – asparagus is definitely one of my favorites! Here is my advice: Always look at the tips. They should be upright and not drooping, and not dried out. The more dried out, the older it will be. Fresh is best! πŸ™‚ Also, the color should go from a lighter green at the stem to a darker green at the tip. The “skinnier” asparagus will be more tender, but If you cook it right, in my opinion it doesn’t really matter.

Leave a Reply

