Week in review!


It’s Saturday evening, and the only thing I have felt like doing all day is SLEEP!!! It was a very busy week. I have been conducting research for my thesis, so Tuesday-Thursday, I drove to Davenport and back. On top of that, I was trying to also stay on top of my school work. On a good note, I had one of these every single day!

GREEN MONSTERS!!!!!

Most days I used a combination of the following ingredients:
Organic Spinach or Kale
Soy Milk
Ice
Organic Banana
Pineapple
Organic Kiwi
Assorted frozen fruit – various combinations of blueberries, blackberries, and strawberries
Chia Seeds!!! – I swear I have an incredible amount of energy every time I eat these!
Soy Vegetarian Protein

If you have not tried the green monster, YOU NEED TO!!! I feel so much better when I have this in the morning.

Most nights this week, my dinner has looked something like this:

My new favorite soup (from a can) just happens to be Muir Glen’s Tomato Basil Soup. It’s pretty killer! I have also recently been trying many of their products – salsa, canned tomatoes, etc. Try them out – I’ve had much success! 🙂

This afternoon, Micah had to work at 4pm, so we had a late lunch/early dinner. This worked well since we didn’t eat breakfast until pretty late this morning. I must have been very tired, because I slept in waaaaay past my normal time. I’m usually up by 7am at the LATEST no matter what. Not today! Hopefully, I can dedicate some effort to getting good sleep next week. I tend to sacrifice a lot of sleep to get work done. In reality, I would perform better if I had adequate sleep. Such is the life of a grad student.

Ok, back to the food. I decided to make this fish dish. It’s really more like a stew, but I cooked this in a very short amount of time. Last weekend, our local Hy-Vee had a seafood sale, so I was able to pick up lots of fish for great prices, PLUS 10% off (in addition to the great sale prices!). I have always loved fish, but I’m pretty picky on what fish I purchase. This is very easy to make and FAST – I think this took me maybe 20 minutes. Here are the ingredients:

Approx. 3/4 C Cherry Tomatoes cut in half
Asparagus
Olive Oil
Balsamic Vinegar
Basil
White Fish of your choice (This time, I used Tilapia)
Scallops

I put about 3 TB of olive oil and about the same of balsamic vinegar in the skillet. I then put the cherry tomatoes in and let this simmer to where it becomes saucy. It shouldn’t be watery. You may need to adjust measurements according to your needs. Add in the asparagus. When the asparagus is cooked, ad the tilapia and scallops. Note: Make sure you rinse and pat dry the fish.

This turned out great – Micah particularly loved the asparagus (which surprised me!).

That’s it folks! Heading to bed SOON! BODY MUST SLEEP!

Leave a Reply

