Tortilla Soup


I love soup – and it doesn’t matter what the season! One of my favorites (no surprise here) is chicken tortilla – mainly because I can make it spicy! That is, unless Micah is going to eat it too. 😉

This version of tortilla soup can certainly be adapted to your own choosing.

Here is the recipe:

Approx. 5 C. Chicken Stock
1 lb Chicken (If you so choose – I also make this vegetarian style)
2 Cloves Garlic, chopped
2 TB Olive Oil
2 Cups Corn
1 Red Bell Pepper
1 Medium Zucchini
1 Medium Red Onion
3-4 Chipotle in Adobo Peppers (use 1-2 if you don’t like lots of heat)
1 can black beans
1 can stewed tomatoes, 28 oz.
1 can Tomato Sauce, 8 oz.
1 TB Ground Cumin
2 TB Taco Seasoning (You can find my recipe for taco seasoning here)

Optional Garnishes:
Red Onion (raw)
Chopped Cilantro – My personal fav!
Avacado – My personal fav!
Blue Corn Tortilla Chips
Cheese
Sour Cream

Directions:

Dice vegetables and saute in 2 TB olive oil and garlic. While vegetables cook, boil chicken until done. Take out chicken and dice, then add back to the pot.. Add vegetables, black beans, tomatoes, tomato sauce, chipotle peppers, and spices. Let simmer for an hour before serving.

So…sometime between last night and this afternoon, my camera disappeared!!!! EEK! I can’t find it anywhere – I know it’s inside the house, but at the moment it has escaped to an unknown place! Hopefully it turns up very soon. :S Hence the horrendous picture…

There are so many things you could add to this recipe. This is pretty basic, and I have been known to add in various other ingredients. At this moment, the soup is on the stove simmering and my house smells so good!!!! I need to get back to work on school things, and I have a class tonight at my church – which reminds me that I need to make a post about that – aybe tonight or tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

