Welcome to Peoria!


Recap of today:

Micah and I left Burlington this morning and headed to Peoria for the Illinois Music Educator’s Association Convention (and of course a small get-away for us). 🙂 We arrived at the Peoria Civic Center, picked up registration materials, and hit downtown Peoria for lunch.

Of course, it seemed like every place was packed, but we came across a cute, but very small cafe – Jane’s Dough. And here is my review:

We walked in and immediately noticed the small space – there were 5 bar-style tables total. The menu featured sandwiches, wraps, soups, desserts, and various coffee drinks. The soup of the day was potato and the special was 1/2 sandwich and a cup of soup (price was not mentioned on the menu). They make everything fresh and homemade, which is definitely a plus in my book! 😉

Micah and I each ordered the special. Micah had a 1/2 club sandwich and I had a 1/2 BLT sandwich each with a cup of potato soup. I ordered iced tea and Micah ordered a can of Diet Pepsi. Our food was ready pretty quickly – although I had to clean off the table we ended up sitting at, because there were dirty dishes on it. And most of you probably know about my dislike towards public places because of the germs. Hehe! 🙂

My sandwich was good, however, it wasn’t a “great” BLT. I probably wouldn’t order it again. The bread was just plain white bread (blah!). The lettuce was decent, and the bacon was done pretty well. I wish I would have had a choice on the bread – that would have possibly made the sandwich better. Also, there was quite a bit of mayonnaise on the sandwich, but maybe that’s just me. I can’t judge Micah’s sandwich, but he said it was just “alright”. The potato soup was pretty good, and I would say the highlight of our meal. Micah wasn’t crazy about it, but I liked the fact that it didn’t have just potatoes, but other vegetables as well.

Overall, I don’t think our meal was worth the $20 that we spent. Sorry, Jane’s Dough, but you took too much of our dough! 🙂 I think it would have been worth about $6-7/person total (including drinks). I hope we have better luck tomorrow and Saturday!

I’m currently sitting in the Country Inn & Suites in Peoria, IL. Micah made a reservation via http://www.priceline.com. He made a bid for $50/night for no less than 2.5 stars. What a deal! One night stay here is $114, so I’d say we’re getting our money’s worth! 🙂 Our room is a tiny apartment. And, they had a soup reception this evening. It was a creamy broccoli and chicken soup – pretty good in my opinion – especially being that it was free!

2 responses to “Welcome to Peoria!

  1. I am so jealous I couldn’t be at IMEA!

    But if you get time for another meal, check out One World Cafe. It is on the corner of main and university (just slightly up from downtown.) The place is delicious!

  2. I’m going to try it for lunch tomorrow (I hope)!!! IMEA is pretty good. Micah and I are definitely enjoying ourselves!

Leave a Reply

