Many Thanksgivings


To start off, I have Day 3 of 31 Days of Praying for Your Husband:

Pray that your husband will be humble and quick to agree with God about his sin. Pray that his heart will be tender toward the voice of the Lord. (Psalm 51:2-4; Micah 6:8)

Today was a whirlwind! We started off with breakfast at home. Micah made eggs (he makes the BEST eggs EVER!). I finished up a recipe for cranberry sauce (to be shared later….). We picked up a friend and took her and her 2 boys to my parents for dinner. This woman has become a good friend of ours, and you can read more about how we became acquainted with her right here. Dinner was at a local church. It consisted of mostly elderly people that didn’t have anywhere to go, but it was AMAZING! The food was awesome, and the conversations were even better. Micah made quite a friend with one man and I could tell they both enjoyed the company. Following dinner, we went to my parent’s house for dessert. My grandmother made 2 pumpkin pies, and I made my pumpkin cake (recipe to be shared later…). Wonderful conversation. Meisha was so grateful to be invited and she fit right in with my family. They all enjoyed getting to know her. Enough about “Thanksgiving”, but let’s move on to TRUE Thanksgiving!

Things I’m thankful for…….

1. Jesus Christ. I would not be here if it weren’t for Jesus Christ. He is the only reason for living. Man will always let you down, but Christ never will. He cares for every one of us! It’s amazing to see how God works every day in my life.

2. My husband. Micah is a huge blessing in my life. We have been married 2-1/2 years(almost!) and will celebrate 4 years together as a couple next month. He is a true companion and he demonstrates every day Christ’s love to me and others. I am grateful for Micah’s leadership in our home and his support and understanding in difficult times and trials. I love you, Micah!

3. My family and friends. So many people to be thankful for, and many of whom I have only known for the past year. I’m grateful of all of you! You have helped me through difficult times and have demonstrated true friendship. I only hope I can be as good of a friend as you all are to me.

4. Education. As much as sometimes it is hard, and I don’t think I can do it, the opportunity that I have is amazing. Many women around the world don’t even know how to read or write, let alone get advanced degrees.

5. Food, Shelter, Freedom, etc. I’m so thankful I live in a country where I have a house to live in, cars to drive, food to eat, and freedom to believe and say things that I want. Americans are very blessed – even those that live in poverty (and I think you know what I mean). Poverty in third world countries are a completely different story than we see in America.

There are endless things to be thankful for this season, but I wanted to list a few (or 5…). For the rest of the evening, I’m laying low. I’m going to pick up my mom and sister in St. Louis tomorrow, so it will be a long day. I’m hoping to leave around 5 or 6am. I can’t wait to see them!!!!

Day 4 is tomorrow……be sure to check back! I’ll also post recipes!

Leave a Reply

