There’s A First Time For Everything


Tonight: First attempt to cook an artichoke. Artichokes are a rich source of antioxidants and fiber….and tasty too!

Here’s how I cooked mine:
I cut the most of the stem off the artichoke. Then, I cut off the tips of the leaves and cut the top of the artichoke off. I also cut the artichoke in half longways. In a pan, I put 2 Cups water, a small amount of light olive oil, 2 cloves of garlic, salt and pepper to taste. You may also use a variety of herbs and I’ve heard lemon juice is great (and I love lemons), but I had no lemons on hand! šŸ˜¦ Once it was boiling, I put in the 2 halves and waited. I had to add more water, but it turned out great! I would say total cooking time is anywhere between 20-30 minutes depending on the size. I cut up the hearts and put it on the Greek pizza I was making.

There are many ways to eat artichokes. A popular use is to eat the leaves with dip. Mmmmmm!!! You can go here for more ways to cook and serve artichokes.

One response to “There’s A First Time For Everything

  1. Artichokes are delicious.

Leave a Reply

