Orzo Recipe…..Mmmmmmmmmmmm!


At our local Farmer’s Market a few weeks ago, I picked up a 1/2 lb of orzo pasta. Although I have had orzo in the past, I’ve never made it. Pappardelle’s is the best pasta I have EVER used. They have TONS of different varieties of pasta. I bought the southwest orzo and tried this recipe. Of course, I only cooked 1/2 lb – so I cut this recipe in half. It was AMAZING. I’m buying more of this tonight and will probably get another variety as well. Micah (and others that frequently visit our home) have learned that I cook a lot of new and different foods that they may not try on an ordinary day – and they always (no joke!) end up liking it, even though they are skeptical at first. Here is the recipe:

1 lb. Pappardelle’s Southwest Orzo
3/4 Cup oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes
2 Tablespoons fresh oregano, finely chopped
2 Tablespoons lemon juice
1/4 Cup water
4 oz. feta cheese, crumbled
4 oz. smoked chicken breast, shredded (optional)

1. Cook pasta in 6-8 quarts of boiling salted water until al dente (8-10 minutes).
2. Meanwhile, drain tomatoes, reserving 1 tablespoon of the oil. Cut tomatoes into thin slivers and place in large bowl. Add oregano, lemon juice, water, feta, and chicken (optional). Add the reserved 1 tablespoon of tomato oil and toss to combine.
3. Drain orzo well and add to tomato mixture. Toss to combine.

Can be served warm or cold. Serves 6 (Although, I got 4 servings for a 1/2 lb recipe – I guess it depends on how much you eat!)

I put the feta cheese on top instead of mixing it in with the rest of the ingredients. I think when I make this again, I’ll add some black beans to it…..mmmmmmmm. I love black beans! I also might cook chicken breast on the side instead of putting shredded chicken in the orzo. You can do a lot with this recipe, and it’s really hard to mess it up! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

