Granola Bar


Now that I’ve started making my own granola (thanks to Jane!), I’ve decided to try granola bars. Sometimes when I don’t have time to eat breakfast at home, I grab a granola bar. The problem is that many of the bars you find in stores (even organic!) have WAAAAAY too much sugar. Here is a recipe I found on a food forum by a marathon runner.

Peanut Butter Granola Bars

In a large bowl mix:

2 cups Oatmeal
2 cups Rice Krispies (or mixture of whatever is in the pantry to equal 2 cups of cereal)
1 1/2 – 2 cups chopped nuts and/or dried fruit (I used cashews and walnuts) She said you can mix anything here…whatever it around. Sunflower seeds, almonds, pecans, she adds flax seed too…raisins, apricots, cranraisins, dates, prunes….whatever…

In a small sauce pan, heat:
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup corn syrup (she has subbed honey)(I added a ‘healthy dose’ of maple syrup)
1/2 cup brown sugar (she has cut this to 1/4 cup or try the Spenda Brown Sugar)

Heat until sugar disolved, then mix w/cereal nut fruit mixture. Stir until coated well, then press into a 13×9 pan. She refrigerates until firm.

I’ll let you know how this turns out (and if I made any adjustments/substitutions), but I am super duper excited! Let me know if you try this as well!

Leave a Reply

