God’s Word


Ok, it’s 12:41am and I can’t sleep. Micah has been EXTREMELY sick for the past week and a half. And when he can’t sleep, neither can I. So, here I am (as well as the past 5 or 6 nights) up late and wide awake. And, when I do make it to sleep, I won’t wake up until mid-morning. UGH! I’m in for a rude awakening in 2 weeks. An 8am class Mon., Wed., and Fri. mornings. That means I must leave the house by 7am at the latest.

Tonight in the A2 family class, we talked about reading the Bible. There are 3 parts. The first part is our hunger/need for God’s word – like our need for food and water. The second part is what benefits pour into our life as a result of knowing and acting upon His Word. The third part is enjoying God’s Word and sharing what we learn from it with others. I have always had a hunger for reading the Bible. The hard part for me is knowing what to read. I have found very few devotionals really help me. They work great for others, but not for me. I’m going to try journaling. I’ve tried it in the past, but the hard part for me is sticking to it. I know it works. When I read a passage a day and write down what I think God is showing me, I get more out of it and can understand God’s Word much more easily. We’ll see how it works this time. Micah and I are trying to keep each other accountable. Anyone have any other suggestions?

Leave a Reply

